Ever since my daughter arrived on the scene, I haven’t been able to write the way I usually do. I have written poems as usual, short ones, a few spoken word pieces, but as far as writing full length spoken word pieces, I haven’t been able to do so. After months of trying figure out what the problem was, and watching my daughter continue to amaze with her intelligence I came to the conclusion that much of what I possessed, now resides with her. The main thing that led me to believe this was the fact that she loved holding pens. Anytime there was a pen around she would always take it up and have it in her hand. Though I loved the fact that she was holding a pen, I was always worried when she started walking around with the pen in her hand- but whenever I took it from her she started screaming I mean screaming like somebody was hurting her. I’ve always told the aspiring artist or artist that was in the middle of writers block that the way to get out of it is to go to a new place, a new venue, something that is not the norm and it will open up your mind and creative process. Being on vacation has helped me tremendously, being around a new atmosphere, new people, it allowed me to open up my mind and have new ideas that’s giving me a fresh fresh fresh feeling.

